Mandate

The use of information and communication technologies (ICT) should provide optimal support for the activities of the Administration and be as cost efficient and secure as possible. This is laid down in the ICT strategy of the Federal Council.

The Federal IT Steering Unit (FITSU) ensures implementation of the strategy. For this purpose, it issues guidelines for the administrative units and centrally manages the ICT standard services, i.e. IT services that the administrative units of the Federal Administration require with the same or similar functionality and quality.

Moreover, the FITSU coordinates cooperation between the Confederation, the cantons and the communes in the field of eGovernment, and manages the Reporting and Analysis Centre for Information Assurance (MELANI).

The former Federal Strategy Unit for IT (FSUIT) has taken on new tasks since the start of 2012, and has also been renamed the Federal IT Steering Unit (FITSU). The renaming took place via the revised Federal Information Technology Ordinance (FITO) of 9 December 2011.

https://www.isb.admin.ch/content/isb/en/home/das-isb/auftrag.html

Auftrag

Der Einsatz von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik (IKT) soll die Verwaltungstätigkeit optimal unterstützen sowie möglichst wirtschaftlich und sicher sein. Dies ist in der IKT-Strategie des Bundesrates verankert.

Für die Umsetzung der Strategie sorgt das Informatiksteuerungsorgan des Bundes (ISB). Hierzu erlässt es Vorgaben für die Verwaltungseinheiten und führt zentral die IKT-Standarddienste. Dies sind Informatikleistungen, welche die Verwaltungseinheiten des Bundes in gleicher oder ähnlicher Funktionalität und Qualität benötigen.

Ausserdem koordiniert das ISB die Zusammenarbeit von Bund, Kantonen und Gemeinden im Bereich E-Government und führt die Melde- und Analysestelle Informationssicherung MELANI.

Seit Anfang 2012 hat das ehemalige Informatikstrategieorgan Bund neue Aufgaben und eine neue Bezeichnung: Informatiksteuerungsorgan des Bundes (ISB). Die Umbenennung erfolgte durch die revidierte Bundesinformatikverordnung (BinfV) vom 9. Dezember 2011.  

https://www.isb.admin.ch/content/isb/de/home/das-isb/auftrag.html