ICT Controlling in the Federal Administration

A distinction is made between strategic controlling and operational controlling in federal IT:

Federal strategic ICT controlling

Strategic ICT controlling solely has a steering function. Aside from the strategic level, it focuses in particular on controlling implementation of the Federal ICT Strategy.

Operational ICT controlling at all levels

With IT controlling (ICO) at the operational level, the economic efficiency, goals and resources of ICT solutions are monitored and documented over the entire lifespan. It creates transparency, ensures uniform assessment criteria and gives decision-makers (project committee, portfolio managers, etc.) important information.

A uniform ICO method and tools, particularly the ICT cockpit, are available within the Federal Administration for managing ICO. ICO is carried out at federal, department and office level by an IT Controlling Officer (ITCO).

Federal ICT portfolio

In order to ensure that the information required for steering and managing ICT is available and both uniform and complete, the Federal Council decided that all ICT projects (with the exception of small projects) and all specialist applications (with the exception of small-scale applications) have to be in the federal ICT portfolio and thus in the ICT cockpit.

Last modification 11.10.2015

Top of page

https://www.isb.admin.ch/content/isb/en/home/themen/controlling.html

Informatikcontrolling in der Bundesverwaltung

In der Bundesinformatik wird zwischen Strategischem Controlling und Operativem Controlling unterschieden:
 

Strategisches IKT-Controlling Bund

Das Strategische IKT-Controlling hat ausschliesslich eine steuernde Aufgabe. Es fokussiert neben der strategischen Ebene insbesondere das Umsetzungscontrolling der IKT-Strategie des Bundes.

Operatives IKT-Controlling auf allen Stufen

Mit dem Informatikcontrolling (ICO) auf der operativen Ebene werden die Wirtschaftlichkeit, die Ziele und Ressourcen von IKT-Lösungen während der ganzen Lebensdauer verfolgt und dokumentiert. Es schafft Transparenz, sichert einheitliche Bewertungskriterien und liefert den Entscheidungsträgern (Projektausschuss, Portfolio-Managern etc.) wichtige Informationen.
In der Bundesverwaltung stehen zum Führen des ICO eine einheitliche ICO-Methode sowie Instrumente, insbesondere das Cockpit IKT, zur Verfügung. Das ICO wird auf den Stufen Bund, Departement und Amt von einer/m Informatikcontrollingbeauftragten (ICB) wahrgenommen.


IKT-Portfolio Bund

Damit die für die Steuerung und Führung der IKT notwendigen Informationen einheitlich und vollständig vorliegen, hat der Bundesrat bestimmt, dass alle IKT-Projekte (ausser Kleinprojekte) und alle Fachanwendungen (ausser Kleinanwendungen) im IKT-Portfolio des Bundes und damit im Cockpit IKT geführt werden müssen.

 

https://www.isb.admin.ch/content/isb/de/home/themen/controlling.html